"He who has not seen the interior of Princes Road Synagogue in Liverpool has not beheld the glory of Israel."
H.A. Meek (1993)
©Leanne Marks 2008
Princes Road synagogue was built in 1874 to the design of W & G Audsley, reflecting the growing influence and status of the highly assimilated Liverpool Old Hebrew Congregation. The Audsleys described the synagogue’s features as being “from both Eastern and Western schools of art, and blended together with enough of the eastern feeling to render it suggestive, and enough of the western severity to make it appropriate for a street building in a western town.”
The interior is magnificent, laid out like a gothic basilica. At the Eastern end sits the Ark at the entrance to the sanctuary, above which sits a most beautiful rose window matching another at the Western end.
The Bimah (readers’ desk) was originally made from wood but was replaced a year after the synagogue’s consecration with one constructed from alabaster and marble, donated by businessman David Lewis as he thought the original one unbefitting such a grand building.
We feature on the English Heritage website and many others, as well as being supported by the Open Churches Trust. The synagogue has also been featured in several films and television programmes.
Visitors have been visiting this most outstandingly beautiful Synagogue described by H. A. Meek as a Hidden Gem, for over a hundred years.
For the last twenty five years we have offered pre-booked tours to adult and school groups on Mondays to Thursdays 9.30am until 3.30pm. Sunday tours are possible by special arrangement.
Please contact the Synagogue office to arrange a booking 0151 709 3431
Tours last approximately forty five minutes, after which visitors will have the opportunity to browse our exhibition and our shop in the Synagogue annexe.
We do ask for donations from visitors which go towards the upkeep of the building.
Donations from schools are made by arrangement.